OFFICERS 2014-2016

NEAL KELLEY PRESIDENT Orange County

DEAN LOGAN VICE PRESIDENT Los Angeles County

SUSAN M.RANOCHAK TREASURER Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND SECRETARY Santa Barbara County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

DONNA M. JOHNSTON Sutter County

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

KAREN RHEA Kern County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN

Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING ALLEN Shasta County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN

Los Angeles County COUNTY CLERK:

KAMMI FOOTE

JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

KAREN RHEA Kern County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

NEAL KELLEY, PRESIDENT

Orange County Registrar of Voters 1300-C South Grand Ave., Santa Ana, CA 92705 P.O. Box 11298, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1298 714-567-7600 * Fax 714-567-7627

> E-Mail: neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

April 18, 2016

The Honorable Mark Stone State Capitol, Room 4062 Sacramento, CA 95814

The Honorable Brian Dahle State Capitol, Room 2158 Sacramento, CA 94249-2001

AB 2265 (Stone/Dahle) –SUPPORT

Dear Gentlemen:

The California Association of Clerks and Elections Officials is pleased to advise you of our support for AB 2265. The bill authorizes the legal counsel who prepared the Impartial Analysis of a local measure to add a plain language summary of the effect of a yes vote and a no vote respectively. This simplified summary would be provided to voters by election officials to assist them in making informed votes.

The Association is in favor of both additional information for voters as well as all efforts to make such information comprehensible and simple to understand.

Should you have questions regarding our position, please contact me at the Contra Costa County Election Division at scott.konopasek@vote.cccounty.us or (925) 335-7808.

Respectfully,

Scott O. Konopasek

Corresponding Secretary

California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

Cc: Assembly Member Weber, Chair, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting Ethan Jones, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting Daryl Thomas, Republican Caucus Consultant Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee

Tricia Webber, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee